What Tunku Abdul Rahman’s great granddaughter said…

This piece was plucked from an article in The Star on August 29, 2009.  I was not aware of it until I got an email from a friend recently.  She has the same perception as I.

Sharyn Lisa Shufiyan, 24
Conservationist
(Tunku Abdul Rahman’s great granddaughter)

“Both my parents are Malay. My mum’s heritage includes Chinese, Thai and Arab, while my dad is Minangkabau. Due to my skin colour, I am often mistaken for a Chinese.

“I’m happy that I don’t have the typical Malay look but I do get annoyed when people call me Ah Moi or ask me straight up: “Are you Chinese or Malay?”

“Like, why does it matter? Before I used to answer ‘Malay’, but now I’m trying to consciously answer ‘Malaysian’ instead.

“There’s this incident from primary school that I remember till today. Someone told me that I will be called last during Judgement Day because I don’t have a Muslim name. Of course, I was scared then but now that I’m older, I realise that a name is just a name. It doesn’t define you as a good or bad person and there is definitely no such thing as a ‘Muslim’ name. You can be named Rashid and still be a Christian.

“I’ve heard of the 1Malaysia concept, but I think we don’t need to be told to be united. We’ve come such a long way that it should already be embedded in our hearts and minds that we are united. Unfortunately, you can still see racial discrimination and polarisation. There is still this ethno-centric view that the Malays are the dominant group and their rights must be protected, and non-Malays are forever the outsiders.

“For the concept to succeed, I think the Government should stop with the race politics. It’s tiring, really. We grew up with application forms asking us to tick our race. We should stop painting a negative image of the other races, stop thinking about ‘us’ and ‘them’ and focus on ‘we’, ‘our’ and ‘Malaysians’.

“No one should be made uncomfortable in their own home. A dear Chinese friend of mine said to me once: ‘I don’t feel patriotic because I am not made to feel like Malaysia is my home, and I don’t feel an affinity to China because I have never lived there’.

“I know some Baba Nyonya friends who can trace their lineage back hundreds of years. I’m a fourth generation Malaysian. If I am bumiputra, why can’t they be, too? Clearly I have issues with the term.

“I think the main reason why we still can’t achieve total unity is because of this ‘Malay Rights’ concept. I’d rather ‘Malay Rights’ be replaced by human rights. So unless we get rid of this bumiputra status, or reform our views and policies on rights, we will never achieve unity.

“For my Merdeka wish, I’d like for Malaysians to have more voice, to be respected and heard. I wish that the Government would uphold the true essence of parliamentary democracy. I wish for the people to no longer fear and discriminate against each other, to see that we are one and the same.

“I wish that Malaysia would truly live up to the tourism spin of ‘Malaysia Truly Asia’.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Great site…keep up the good work.

    Reply

  2. Posted by nurulizzy on September 13, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    i do agree! we should call ourselves org malaysia! hehe just different religions thats all..

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sauttary on September 17, 2009 at 10:51 am

    i agree! we are Malaysian, double standard practices should be destroyed.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kampongboy on September 17, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Cut all the craps and here’s a big question to all Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans, Muruts in Malaysia etc…”ARE WE MALAYSIANS?”

    If yes, why can’t we make it simple and start to make it equal?

    Are our politicians jeopardizing this issue? Think again…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Siraj on September 17, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Wishful thinking……..

    Reply

  6. Posted by Codename Nemesis on October 26, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    To the bitch who write this

    your grandpa even though is Bapa Kemerdekaan
    is nothing compare to Askar Melayu who fight for Tanah Melayu nowadays Malaysia………..
    i repeat Tanah Melayu……….
    repeat again Tanah Melayu

    Belajar sejarah dulu kalau nak wat articles
    dan jangan jadi buta sejarah
    aku tak dapat stand ngan pompuan bodoh macam hang ni tau tak……..

    Kaum mana yang berhak untuk Tanah Melayu
    tentunya melayu………
    siapa yang paling banyak berjuang menuntut kemerdekaan
    Melayu……
    bangsa paling toleransi
    Melayu…….

    so stop with your cock talk and cock articles
    i’m sick of it ok………….
    konsep 1 malaysia is ok
    but got some other races
    yang cuba nak lawan perlembagaan untuk menggubal
    hak keistimewaan orang melayu dan agama islam
    especially the chinese……………….

    i just wasted my fucking time to write this
    just want you to read this
    and open your fucking mind bitch

    Awan Berombak Di Langit Biru
    Kuning Emas Cahaya Sang Suria
    Tak Mungkin Hilang Irama Dan Lagu
    Takkan Melayu Hilang Di Dunia

    Dimana Bumi Dipijak Disitu Langit Dijunjung
    Hidup Melayu……………….
    Melayu yang banyak berjuang bangsa lain nak ambil alih
    Keep On Dreaming ok………………

    Ha……
    Before i end up everything

    Don’t Like Me
    Blow Me

    (Codename Nemesis)

    Reply

  7. Posted by nurulizzy on October 28, 2009 at 12:49 am

    uuuuuuuuuu..so there’s like an extremist here eyh?? 1st of all mr nemesis..if ur reading this..that article is just a repost article..so if u wish to say anything..direct it to the real person who wrote that article..it wasn’t miss tay li neo..and stop being an insensitive bastard..and oh..isn’t malay people should be more courteous towards others? people like u are the one shattering malay’s image..talk about semangat cintakan tanah air..more like racism i see from this point..and oh yeah we are well aware of malaysia’s history..those who fought for the country and died for it..we bear it in our mind..and we do KNOW its Tunku who finally declare the independence of Tanah Melayu with all the spirits of pejuang tanah Melayu..u should open ur mind here man.. not all chinese are like that..there lots of them who loves this country as much as we do!

    Reply

  8. Posted by taylineo on October 28, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Well said Izzah!

    Nemesis, you so full of shit. If you really know your history than you won’t be CRAPPING like this. If you waste your time writing the comment then why write it dumbass!

    If everyone thinks like you and if our late Tunku Abdul Rahman we won’t have our Malaysia now. People with attitude and thinkings like you are what shames Malaysia. Malaysia has been so blessed with rich cultures by all races so appreciate and respect it.

    Such ignorance…..rubbish to the society….

    Reply

  9. Posted by jean Jacques on November 13, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Talking about 1 nation, its not meant to even be mentioned at all, it has to be in the people since the beginning, but somehow malaysia doesnt even have that in them. Simply put, many things malaysians lack, as an overall, which should be nurtured since childhood, but i cant even seem to understand where they all got these bad attitude, behaviors and mentality.

    Radio talks are all bullshit, is it now that you want to try and be courteous to one another, where’s the respect?? None..Scratch that, it simply wont happen..Malaysia is a racist country, and oh yes, check the courteous level and ranking level worldwide..its not even there i think..

    Reply

  10. Posted by Siraj on November 13, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Nemesis,

    You are full of it man….Firstly, never address any woman a bitch, especially someone who has more sense than you. Secondly, you speak of ‘Askar Tanah Melayu’. Were you even born then? If you were, did you ever gave your life for the country as a soldier. Talk is cheap. Put your money where your mouth is. In reality, its you that is ‘talking cock’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

